Page 1 of 1

Fun things in L.A.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 6:47 pm
by JodiCGE
Movies:
Cinespia - http://www.cinespia.org
Santa Monica Drive In (free ) - http://santamonicapier.org/smdi.html
LA Film Festival - http://www.lafilmfest.com
Movies at LACMA - http://www.lacma.org/programs/FilmListing.aspx
Cinespace - http://www.cinespace.info/movies_template_calendar.html

Music:
Hollywood Bowl - http://www.hollywoodbowl.com
Santa Monica Twilight Series (free - not updated yet) - http://www.twilightdance.org
Drum Downtown (free) - http://www.musiccenter.org/events/aa_drumdowntown.html
Jazz Bakery - http://www.jazzbakery.com/calendar/
Indie and jazz music at the Hammer (free) - http://www.hammer.ucla.edu/programs/45/
Music at LACMA (mostly free) - http://www.lacma.org/programs/MusicPrograms.aspx
The Do-Over (complete with bbq and booze) - http://www.myspace.com/thedoover
Troubadour: http://www.troubadour.com
Sunset Junction (with Cold War Kids and Broken Social Scene! Silverlake) Aug. 23-24 - http://www.sunsetjunction.org/streetfair_schedule.html

Theater:
LA Opera - http://www.losangelesopera.com/season/index.htm (if you have a student ID you can go the night of and get tix for $20 - http://www.losangelesopera.com/tickets/rush.htm)
Shakespeare in the Park (free) - http://independentshakespeare.com

Dance:
Dance Downtown (free) - http://www.musiccenter.org/events/aa_dancedowntown.html

Performance Art (music, dance, theater):
Grand Performances (free) - http://www.grandperformances.org
UCLA Live - http://www.uclalive.org/default.asp
KCRW Events - http://www.kcrw.com/events

Museums:
Fridays off the 405 at the Getty Museum (free) - http://www.getty.edu/visit/events/fridays_405.html
LACMA - (free admission 2nd Tuesday of the month and after 5 p.m.) http://www.lacma.org/
MOCA After Dark - (not updated yet) - http://www.moca.org/nightvision/
Hammer Museum - http://www.hammer.ucla.edu/programs.htm
Skirball Center - http://www.skirball.org/index.php?optio ... hhdcdzig9u
Body Worlds at Science Center: http://www.californiasciencecenter.org/ ... rlds_3.php

Sports:
Angels - http://losangeles.angels.mlb.com/schedu ... p?c_id=ana
Dodgers - http://losangeles.dodgers.mlb.com/sched ... sp?c_id=la
Galaxy - http://www.mlsnet.com/schedule/scoreboa ... ?team=t106
Hollywood Park (horse racing) - http://www.hollywoodpark.com/visit/calendar/index.html

Food:
Taste of Santa Monica (not updated yet) - http://www.tasteofsantamonica.com/
Wat Thai Temple (weekend Thai food market) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/wat-thai-buddhi ... -hollywood
Greek Festival: http://www.lagreekfest.com/home2008.htm
Hawaiian Festival: http://www.hiccsc.org/

Activities:
Lululemon (free yoga, fitness classes on Sunday mornings) - http://www.lululemon.com/beverlyhills/northbeverly
Nike Club Run LA - http://insidenikerunning.nike.com/categ ... s-angeles/
Power Yoga (donation-based) - http://www.poweryoga.com
Grunion Run: http://www.grunion.org

Hiking: http://www.localhikes.com/MSA/MSA_4472.asp
Temescal Canyon (http://www.localhikes.com/Hikes/TemescalCanyon_4472.asp)
Topanga Canyon (http://www.localhikes.com/HikeData.asp?ID=4005)
Malibu Creek (http://www.localhikes.com/Hikes/MalibuCreek_4472.asp)
Runyan Canyon (http://www.localhikes.com/Hikes/RunyanCanyon_4472.asp)
Angeles National Forest - http://www.fs.fed.us/r5/angeles/maps/br ... _hikes.pdf

Biking:
Bike Boom - http://bikeboom.com/webcalendar/month.php
Midnight Ridazz - http://www.midnightridazz.com/events.php
Goga (for the girls) - http://gogabikeride.blogspot.com/
Pasadena Critical Mass - https://lists.riseup.net/www/info/pasad ... tical-mass
Santa Monica Critical Mass - http://santamonicacriticalmass.ning.com/